Skip to content

What is Fibromyalgia?

January 12, 2007

Well I’ve just come back from seeing the Doctor. I had an Echo of my heart on the 4th of January (no results back yet) although the Dr seems to think that if something was wrong there, then I would have heard from the hospital by now. So we went through some of my health issues. About three months ago I had been to see the Dr because I felt so totally exhausted ALL the time. I told him that I am still exhausted, I dosed off at work yesterday while checking the email (DOH!) I have trouble driving as my arms ache so much that the muscles start burning. My knee’s ache so painfully, I can’t concentrate…even when I’m driving. I can’t remember anything & I can’t sleep. It might take me three hours to get to sleep some nights which really pisses me as I am so friggin’ tired! Grrrrrrrr!!! I get pain in my wrists, back & knees. Headaches, blurry vision, numb big toes (I know weird huh!)anxiety and to top it all off I feel really depressed (well yeah!!)
The Dr asked me straight away if I’d heard of Fibromyalgia. I said no but I was thinking in the back of my mind , that sounds like what Sharryn has.The Dr didn’t go into any details (So I’ve looked it up on the internet) and yep all my symptoms are catalogued right there in black and white! It kinda makes me feel a little better to know that there is a reason I feel like this, as I was starting to feel like I was going crazy. *sigh*
The Dr has put me on a low dose antidepressant which is supposed to help improve sleep and to relieve pain and also instructed me to do gentle stretching.
So basically stuff all is done to help with FM.
I have sent Shaz an email to see if we can have a chat. The only other time I have ever heard of this condition is though Sharryn. So maybe She can give me some pointers.
OTHER NEWS: I won the Elsie Flannigan challenge on the BOXX last week!! Woohoo!! That made me feel so stoked to see my name as the winner. It really made my day. I haven’t started this weeks challenge yet as I’ve been at work and just too stuffed when I get home.
I might subb my Puppy Love LO to the mags. You know I still haven’t had one LO published yet and I think that’s really starting to get me down too. I love my LO’s (obviously PMSLOL) and I have people comment and say they love my work too (that always brings a big smile to my dial 😉 ) but then I have never had a LO published so I start to think that maybe they are all lying to me and my LO’s really are just crap…but then I have to give myself a kick up the quoit and remind myself that I’m not doing these LO’s for the mags anyway, I am doing them to preserve my family memories.
I do really love scrapbooking…just the fact that you can take an ordinary photo and make it look spectacular!! That is something special.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. raquel permalink
    January 15, 2007 8:21 am

    Hi Tammy, Thanks for the help with my blog today.
    I am sure you must be relieved to find out an answer to your questions and why you were exhausted a lot. Wishing you all the best with that, I hope with your medications things start to pick up.
    With subbing… I have only just started but I do not want it to dictate why I scrap, we should scrap for ourselves otherwise the fun will be drained out of it completely!!
    Take care
    *Raquel*

  2. Julie permalink
    January 13, 2007 7:43 am

    Faaar out Tam. I only know from what Sharryn has said about the condition & sheesh!
    Hope it’s not but it sounds like it is from what ur saying.
    I wish u a speedy recovery.
    & about ur lo’s they are fantabulous! We wouldn’t say it if we didn’t mean it & hey it’s only a matter of time! they rock!
    Take care & look after ur self!
    Jxx

  3. deirdre permalink
    January 13, 2007 7:43 am

    OK, kick up the quoit from me too! I went through this with Sharryn just last night. And whilst I was whinging I checked my email and there it was….an acceptance. Tam you HAVE to submit everything, absolutely everything you create. Even if it didnt turn out quite the way you wanted. I am going to start checking on you, and make sure you do, because you should be getting those amazing pages of yours accepted.
    FM hey? Well, I got a shock reading all your symptoms, cos they are exactly the same as mine…even the numb big toes. OMG, I think I had better go to see the doc on Monday. So good on you for putting it out there, you may well have given me a kick up the quoit too, LOL!
    Have a fantastic weekend Tammy, hope the AD starts to help you feel better.

  4. Julie permalink
    January 13, 2007 7:42 am

    Hey there Tam. Congrats on the chal win over at the box. Your work is great so don’t worry about if the mags like it as long as you do that is all that matters.

    Hope you feel better soon Missy.

  5. Megan permalink
    January 13, 2007 7:41 am

    Hi Tammy,

    Please don’t let it get to you that you haven’t had a layout published yet. Seriously, they get SO MANY subbed to them each week, and it isn’t a bad reflection on your scrapping ability. If you really want one published though, keep at it! Look at the gallery calls and send them off…but keep creating from the heart. That’s when you will do your best work 🙂

    I am so pleased the doctor gave you an answer to your symptoms. That must be a relief! I don’t know anything about FM…I hope the tablets help you though!

    Megan xx

Leave a Reply

