Skip to content

Elsie Flannigan 52 challenge #3

January 21, 2007


Oh My Goodness me I can’t believe it’s the week-end again! Where does the time go.
I finished my next EF challenge entry. Week three already. Sheesh!!
I have really noticed that all my LO’s are kinda the same style…is it style though? or is it just the same old thing. I am starting to think that all my pages are going to look boring. Same old same old. Maybe I need to be a bit more adventurous. PMSLOL.
I have been studying this past week. Trying to find out all I can about Fibromyalgia. The Dr wants to see me in three weeks and I want to be able to ask him plenty of questions. I think it has become reflective in my scrapbooking. My style. I feel so completely, physically, exhausted that I think I just scrap what I feel comfortable with, as by the time I have finished a page I can hardly move. My back aches until it burns and I lack concentration. The tips of my index fingers are numb too…it’s a freaky feeling and I keep touching them together all the time. To give you some idea. The other night it was so hot…I went to check the kids before I went to bed and they needed tucking in. I was physically exhausted when I finished. Just the simplest of chores knocks me around. I think the anti-depressants are helping though as I think I am starting to sleep all night now and the brain fog is getting better too. DH has been absolutely wonderful. Letting me know that if I don’t want to cook then just get take-away or to leave all the chores to him and he’ll do them on his days off. How fabulous is he!! I can’t let him do everything though as he’ll end up with exhaustion too. We just need to find a balance I think.
For anyone who is interested I have found out that one of the major causes of FM is the lack of Serotonin and norepinephrine in the brain…this causes sleep problems and also sends pain messages to the body when it shouldn’t. Hence being so exhausted and always being in pain. The solution that the Dr’s use is “Serotonin & norepinephrine Re-uptake inhibitors” or SNRI’s…for the layman…antidepressant medication. This increases the levels of both serotonin and norepinephrine by inhibiting their re-absorption into cells in the brain. I have pages and pages of info that I have gotten off the web.
I also need to eat foods that are high in tryptophan, an amino acid that helps to build serotonin levels. Tryptophan is converted to L-trytophan by amino acids and various enzymes. The L-tryptophan produces a brain chemical, serotonin, which helps promote sleep.
If I can get to sleep but have trouble staying asleep then I need a food that will release the serotonin later in the night. A particulary good food for this is a banana or a milky drink right before bed, as milk is high in tryptophan…so that old saying about milk helping you to sleep is partly true. It really does help you to “stay” asleep.
Well that is it for now…I still have alot of researching to do in regards to foods and the like. I’m going to try and add an email form to my blog somewhere, so if you want to get into email contact with me then keep an eye out for that.

Take care all and thanks for stopping by my blog today 🙂
Cheers
Tammy ♥

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    January 22, 2007 11:51 am

    Love the page Tam it looks great.

  2. Megan permalink
    January 22, 2007 11:51 am

    Gosh, you have been doing your research haven’t you? I guess there is just so much to learn with a big life change like this.

    I love your layout too – very cool!

    Megan xx

Leave a Reply

