Skip to content

And the fun continues!

April 7, 2007

Talissa coped the short straw yesterday. During the later part of the afternoon the kids were playing out in the backyard, in the bush – a miniature umbrella tree that is as high as the fence – when I heard a lot of screaming and Talissa calling for me. So I dash down to the back yard and Talissa was on the path screaming and holding her ankle. She had been in the bush and I thought maybe she’d fallen out and a branch had jabbed her in the ankle. When I took her shoe and sock off it looked like she had two puncture wounds OMFG!!!! I thought she had been bitten by a snake and she kept saying it was hurting a lot. There were two red pinpricks and it two small swelling were starting already. I carried her to the bush and asked her exactly what had happened. I was looking carefully for any signs of a snake but I found an inch ant. Have you ever seen one of those! They are friggin’ huge 😯 and have these massive mandibles. Scary looking ants. I woke DH (he was on nightshift) to look after Conner and rushed her to the hospital. I still wasn’t sure if it was a snake bit and I wasn’t waiting to find out. She was in and out within about 15 minutes. The Doctor assured me that it was the inch ant – I took that in with me PMSLOL!! – and they gave her Panadol and told me to give her antihistamine as some people can have a reaction to the bites, like swelling and pain 😦 So then on Good Friday I had to try and find a bloody chemist LOL!! Oh what joy.
Also Jason had rung me at 9.30 that morning because his car wouldn’t start and he needed me to pick him up from work. He normally gets home around 7.30am and is in bed by 8am. We got home at 11.30 am and then I woke him about 3pm to watch Conner so he had bugger all sleep. Poor DH but he didn’t mind. He was concerned about Talissa too. So this morning I got up, let Jason sleep in and got the kids breakfast and dressed. After that I thought I’d sit down with a coffee and check my email…the computer wouldn’t start 🙄 not a thing. I checked all the plugs and connections and tried again. Nope it had died a silent death 🙄 So I got Jason up at 9.30 and asked him if he had done something to the computer…no…so he gets up and after about an hour of stuffing around he found that the power supply had decided on permanent vacation. So on the way to try and get Jason’s car working we stopped and picked up a new power supply for the computer…got to his work around 3.30pm and started to work on his car. I took the kids to visit Nanna. An hour later we were back at DH work trying to figure out what was wrong with the car. After about 2 hours the kids had enough of sitting in the car so I took them to the local chicken shop and got some chips for tea…we couldn’t get it working and just left it there and headed home. We got home at about 7.30. We still need to go back and try and get the darn thing going at least to get it home.

So how’s your Easter break going. Better than ours so far I hope. Talissa left a carrot for the Easter bunny and we left him a note asking him to hide the eggs inside as we don’t want Max to scare him or eat the eggs 😉 She was very serious about writing that letter 😀 Sooooooo cute.
I hope the Easter bunny visits and leaves you lots of goodies.
Take care
Tammy X

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Peta's page permalink
    April 11, 2007 6:45 am

    hope you are having a better time now!!! it is scary for you when the kids are in danger.
    Have you been bale to scrap? I didn’t get to do any yesterday – organising our car getting trucked up to Queensland for our son to use as his died 😦
    take care

  2. Peta's page permalink
    April 11, 2007 6:45 am

    hope you are having a better time now!!! it is scary for you when the kids are in danger.
    Have you been bale to scrap? I didn’t get to do any yesterday – organising our car getting trucked up to Queensland for our son to use as his died 😦
    take care

  3. deirdre permalink
    April 10, 2007 3:25 pm

    OMG Tammy, I have never heard of inch ants, but they look terrible. Poor Talissa.
    Hope you get Jasons car working again too 😦
    Hope you had a great Easter 🙂

  4. smiles1965 permalink
    April 9, 2007 11:30 pm

    OMG how stressful for you and Talissa. So glad it wasn’t a snake but this any still looks pretty scary too.

    Have a great week 🙂

  5. Jenny Boyd permalink
    April 9, 2007 10:08 pm

    what a horrible scary looking ant! Send shivers down my spine just looking at it – I can’t imagine how you would have felt thinking it was a snake that bit her! Hope the easter bunny was good to you all!

  6. Megan permalink
    April 8, 2007 11:21 pm

    Tammy that must have been terrifying not knowing if it was a snake or not – so glad Talissa was all right.

    Happy Easter to you!

    Megan xx

  7. Jacky McLeod permalink
    April 8, 2007 10:36 pm

    I’ve been bitten by one of those ant, they really really hurt. Your poor daughter 😦 I hope she is feeling better

Leave a Reply

