Skip to content

Thelma’s day out

September 29, 2008

I finally got some time this week-end to start on some of my sewing projects. I recently bought the Thelma’s Day out pattern from The Janelle wind Collection. I love Janelle’s patterns. They are so funky and fun to make. So here is my bag… (why do they always end up so bright looking! If I every got hit by a truck while carrying this bag and the driver said he didn’t see me we would all know he was lying ๐Ÿ˜† ). The buckle is off of my very favourite belt…a black leather Pipeline belt. Unfortunately this belt hasn’t fit me for about 7 years but I couldn’t bear the thought of throwing it out! It was still in perfect condition. So I gave it the chop. I now don’t have to feel bad about throwing it out… ๐Ÿ˜€

Thelma is also reversible…so here is the inside. Done in green with white polka dot. Lovely! I really enjoyed making this bag. Now how do I explain to DH that I really do need all these bags?

I also made the journal cover in the same materials. Denin cover and belt loops…orange polka dot belt…green polka dot binding…green inside cover with the side pockets being done in the orange polka dot (be buggared if I can find a belt buckle though – need to do more shopping for that one – so I will post a piccie once its complete ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) I made this to give to Talissa’s teacher Mrs Oomens as a thank you present for teaching Talissa this year. She is a gorgeous teacher! I’ve really enjoyed her teaching this year. Unfortunately for us I think Gen is going overseas to teach next year…and we will miss her a lot ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I also found a site that has a free pattern for passport protectors so I’m going to make one of those to go with the journal in the same colours ๐Ÿ™‚

Last week-end seen me get so frustrated with Max’s dreadies that I went to Cheap-as-chips and bought a $10 pair of hair clippers (people ones ๐Ÿ˜† ) and gave him a hair cut! 2 HOURS LATER!!!!!!!!! I finally finished and all I could think was OMFG is he really THAT skinny under all of his fur ๐Ÿ˜€ He really looks SO unimpressed hey ๐Ÿ˜† He also spent nearly 2 solid days shaking his head. It got so annoying (both for us and him I’m sure) so I ended up growling at him whenever I spotted him doing it. I think he was so use to having really furry ears and all the fur on the top of his head hanging in his eyes, that it just felt really weird to not have that there. I know if we patted him and brushed his fur back off his eyes the first thing he would do is run off shaking his head to get it all hanging back down. He’s stopped doing that now but when he sits next to me he shivers….awwwww….and yes I feel guilty but honestly he was getting dreadlocks under his ears and on the fur on the back of his legs…so much so that I was hacking them off with scissors…hopefully he won’t need another haircut for about 6 months?

While I’m blogging I also want to say a

BIG HUGE

CONGRATULATIONS to Grandma Mardi on the birth of her first granddaughter ANNA-BELLA. Anna-bella is the cutest little munchkin. You can see Mardi’s beautiful granddaughter HERE and I look forward to seeing some baby girl inspired LO’s from Mardi soon ๐Ÿ˜‰

Well that’s all I’m going to share for now.

I will be post a couple of LO’s soon ๐Ÿ™‚

Mwha! xx
Tam

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2008 10:47 am

    OMG I want that bag! it’s stunning!

  2. October 3, 2008 1:58 pm

    Oh Tammy – your Thelma bag looks sensational!!! I LOVE it – I also love that you were able to keep the buckle from a special belt and give it a new home – great idea!! I LOVE your creations, thanks so much xx Janelle

  3. Mardi permalink
    September 30, 2008 3:13 pm

    Ohh your bag is just beautiful Tammy… and lol at the ‘hit by a truck’ comment….isnt it the most gorgeous pattern.
    Thanks for the lovely congrats in the arrival of Anna-bella too….she is definitly the cutest thing alive as far as Im concerened..(no bias here…lol)
    M xx

  4. September 30, 2008 10:58 am

    Love the bright, cheerful bag!! Love how your repurposed your favourite belt – adds a great touch! Thanks for the link,

  5. September 30, 2008 9:13 am

    That bag is awesome Tammy!!! I so wish I could sew… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    And Max looks just adorable, yes, unimpressed, but still adorable!

    xx

Leave a Reply

