Skip to content

My Grandpop passed away this morning

April 1, 2009

My Aunty just called to let me know that Grandpop passed away at about 9.30 this morning 😦
Some of you girls my have been keeping up to date at the Boxx but for those who haven’t…
My Grandpop is an alcoholic and has been so ever since I was born – so a very long time.
About 10 years ago he had a very nasty fall coming home from the pub. He hit his head pretty badly and it took quite some time to rehabilitate him although his speech was affected.
On Thursday last week Nana got a call that Grandpop was in hospital. He had fallen while leaving the pub and he had a fractured skull and a brain haemorrhage.
I’ve been in 3 times to see him, the last time last night and he wasn’t at all well 😦
He had pneumonia.
Both his arms had huge haematoma’s (sp?) just massive, from where the Dr’s had taken blood and that little needle hole bleed and bleed under the skin. I can only imagine how much his brain was bleeding 😦
He had a seizure while I was with him too. It was awful and I couldn’t find the call button? I had to step out to the hallway and flag a nurse down.
She gave him a shot of diazapam (sp?) They weren’t sure if the seizures were from his head injury or alcohol withdrawls 😦

His breathing was really laboured as well and a couple of times I thought he was going to stop breathing 😦
It was all a bit scary. But only because I was there on my own.
I held his hand. Kissed his head and told him that I loved him and that it was all ok. LOL I don’t know if he heard me though…he’s a tad deaf and I felt a bit funny saying that really loudly heehee. *sigh*
Just as long as he knew that I loved him…nothing else matters IYKWIM?!
He was on morphine 4 times a day and the diazapam when he had a fit so he really was just sleeping through it all.
My only hope was that he wasn’t in any pain.

I feel very sad. I’m having a little bit of a cry as I type this – but all is good.
I got to spend quality time with him and I got to tell him I loved him.
Now my only wish is that his soul can be healed. I know he’s in no more pain so that makes me feel relieved for him.

Rest in peace now Grandpop
Your loving Grand-daughter
xxTammy

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2009 7:00 pm

    Sending you all my love Tammy… So wish I could be there to give you a big hug!!!

    Donna xxxxxxxxxxxxx

  2. Beth permalink
    April 2, 2009 10:26 pm

    So sorry to hear the news of your Pop Tam,
    would call but its 11.30 and a bit late ! I am up finishing assignment due tomorrow. can you tell ? deadlines are always the best time to look at blogs :s
    will try to call over the weekend.
    Thinking of you and love you lots.
    B xx

  3. April 2, 2009 3:27 pm

    Ah, lovie, it’s so rough to lose a grandparent. I’m glad that he was restful and that you got a chance to visit with him and tell him that you loved him. I’m sure he knew it.

  4. April 1, 2009 9:48 pm

    Tammy I’m so sorry to hear about your Grandpop. I’m thinking of you and your family. Sending big ((HUGS)) your way!

    Sheree xx

  5. Annmarie permalink
    April 1, 2009 1:17 pm

    Our thoughts are with you and your family Tammy…….. may your pop now rest in peace…..

Leave a comment