Skip to content

Royal Adelaide Show – 2009

September 5, 2009

Yes we did the unthinkable – we loaded the kids and the snacks in the car and drove the hour trip into town to this years Royal Adelaide Show…we left a little later in the day (being just after lunch) arrived in the city at 1.30pm and spent the next HOUR!!! (thank you!!!!!) driving around the friggin’ block waiting on a car park.

WHAT WERE WE THINKING??? 🙄

Every time we drove past the car park entrance the sign was out saying FULL – so we’d drive to car park no. 2 only to see the FULL sign. So we just drove around, and around with the kids crying in the back “ARE WE THERE YET?” 😥

When I finanlly got let into the car park I rolled down my window and “WOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOO’d” VERY loudly to the man at the gate – he laughed – I’m sure he thought I was a complete nutter. When I got to the car park ticket booth I screamed out “YAY!!!!! Only an hour and a half to get in!! WOOHOO!!!” 😆

For some reason the kids had gone quiet in the back 😆

We finally got in and the first place we stopped was the craft pavilion. WOW some amazing crafts in there but I must admit that I fell in love with some of these cakes…aren’t they just amazing!

royal show cakesConner loved the Night Garden cake. I can imagine how much time and effort has gone into these cakes!

The kids went on some rides…

pirate ship 09We went on the Ferris Wheel (which just out of no particular interest to anyone I guess…) had its 40th birthday 🙂
I took this photo from the top 😉

royal show 2009

We visited Side Show Alley

royal show 2009Then the kids had their faces painted
face painting 1

face painting 2We then visited the Showbag hall and left for home quite a bit poorer! Damn TripleM for not calling my name out to win show tickets!! 😡

But the kids had fun & its their memories we are creating which is the important thing – isn’t it?? 😆

So what did you do today?
Tammy

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2009 8:58 am

    oops sorry Tam, left the comment on the wrong post – Doh!!!

  2. September 30, 2009 8:56 am

    Jealous here!!!!! I want your scrap room – I’m dragging all my stuff out to the dining room table still. Dya think I can get rid of our guest room? (I’m sure mum and dad wouldn’t mind sleeping on the floor – LOL!!!

  3. September 11, 2009 6:32 pm

    i love the royal adelaide show it is so cool

    by Olivia

  4. September 7, 2009 10:04 am

    LOL… Oh Tammy! You are one brave girl! So glad you all managed to have a great time once you got in the gates! 🙂

    Sheree xx

  5. September 6, 2009 11:15 am

    Haha. We contemplated going to the Show yesterday, but decided against it because we suspected that we’d have to line up everywhere. It does look like it was worth the long wait though Tammy. The photos look brilliant.

  6. September 6, 2009 9:23 am

    Wow Tammy sounds like you guys had quite an expedition! It’s so frustrating when you can’t just drive up, park, get your tickets and off you go! We have avoided the show here for a couple of years now and I have to admit I have’nt missed it!
    Good on you for braving the show with the kids in tow! It sounds like once you were there you all had a great time.

Leave a Reply

