Skip to content

Gardening

March 4, 2010

I’ve been bitten by the green thumb! I use to have one years ago but having children turned my green thumb to a more yellow colour PMSLOL 😆

On Christmas Day my boss invited my family up to his house to spend some time with his gorgeous family. Mark and Sue and their 3 boys are so lovely. They are always so pumped with idea’s and inspiration that its not difficult to get caught up in it yourself. Anyway Mark & Sue have a GORGEOUS garden that is just so child friendly. Little nooks and crannys to investigate – even a train carriage! I was given the guided tour of their property and at the same time was taking mental notes – my yellow thumb was starting to get some green shoots! My favourite story was of the fence they have at the back of their yard. It came from the abitoirs at Gepps Cross and it was one that housed a lot of cattle…there is one spot where the cows constantly chewed it and it has a smoothed half round shape out of the wood 😛 Very cute story 🙂

So what have I been up to at my home?
I’ve decided that I want a creek bed…so I marked out the shape with the garden hose and started digging – then soaking the ground with water…it was like trying to dig concrete with a shovel!
This is how I finished off day one

notice how dry and dead everything is. That’s the result of the drought here in Australia. Its been going on for about 5 years now. El Ninio? That lasts about 7 years doesn’t it? So two more to go 😦
So after hosing down the soil to soften in over night this was my day two attempt

I’ve stolen some of the garden rocks from the front yard to put around my creek. Hubby just needs to dig out some of the bigger ones. Then we will put in a reticulated pump, a pond liner and then we’ll fill it with creek pebbles. It won’t be deep and the water will only just be visible through the pebbles. I want to chop some railway sleepers and lay two across the creek for the kids to use as a little bridge. I have SO MANY ideas! Its really quite exciting – although lots of hard work!

So that’s it for the creek until we get the pond pump, liner and pebbles so I moved onto another garden project.
We’ve got these old, large sqaure posts and I wanted to do something with them. So I dug out the post hole digger and put these in my garden. Joined them up with some eyelet screws and sisil rope (loved the smell of that new rope :LOL:)

We are considering pulling out the old Hills Hoist clothes line and putting in a wall mounted folding clothes line around the other side of the house. The clothes line is a real eye sore as its so prominent (and always full!)

So tomorrow will see us digging up some more rocks and a bit more pottering 🙂
Have a nice day!
Tammy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2010 11:22 pm

    I will make a date mid winter to come chek it out 🙂 🙂 🙂 xxx

  2. Mardi permalink
    March 5, 2010 6:59 am

    Hi there gorgeous girl (with the green thumb)…. You are making amazing progress with your yard….and I can visualise the end result perfectly from your description…
    You are such a multi-talented little chicken….
    (oh and I can just imagine digging that concrete hard ground….its so dry isnt it)
    Well its lovely to read this post….. take care sweetie….Mardi xx

Leave a Reply

