Skip to content

A garden window

April 11, 2010

Yes I am still potting around in the yard… + we have had some MUCH needed rain – makes it so much easier to dig ๐Ÿ™‚

I put in this “Garden window” today ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ I know you probably think I’m completely bonkers but I have an image…in my minds eye of what this will look like once the plants have grown in behind itJust back a little bit and to the side is a pink Oleander and behind the window is a Pittsoporum. Both these plants will grow to three meters or more and be lovely and bushy. I’m hoping that the window will eventually be ‘absorbed’ and look like its just hanging there amongst the plants ๐Ÿ™‚

My next project will be a garden door ๐Ÿ˜€

Other projects I’m working on are birdhouses that I’m making from pallet timbers. They are meant to look rustic and kind of like they are just slapped together. Hopefully they will change to a lovely grey colour once they have been weathered a bit. I hope I get a resident for the large birdhouse?! Time will tell ๐Ÿ™‚

Here is the beginning of the birdhouse…

this is the start of construction…

see it really is me making it ๐Ÿ™‚

The finished product – well until its attached to the pole on its base anyway. My boss brought the bit of galvanised capping into work for me so I could finish the roof ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks Mark ๐Ÿ™‚
Then I thought it would be nice to teach Dwayne how to use the drop saw and the drill hole saw so we made another little bird house together today ๐Ÿ™‚

I’d like to make a couple of these little bird houses and join them together – just like an apartment block ๐Ÿ˜€

So that was what I did today – tomorrow I may go to the salvage yard…hehehehehehehehehe!!!!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. cheryl permalink
    June 2, 2010 3:21 pm

    by the way the garden looks really great will have to see it when its all finished!

  2. cheryl permalink
    June 2, 2010 3:20 pm

    you do know that oleanders are poisonous to children please be careful that the kids don’t touch it! i think its the sap and leaves that is the problem!!

  3. Mardi permalink
    April 12, 2010 6:12 pm

    Awww Tammy…. your birdhouses are gorgeous!!!!!!
    I just love reading about your garden progess…. I can see is exactly as you describe…..
    Lots of hugs….M xxxxx

  4. April 12, 2010 2:21 pm

    too clever chick i love your window idea ๐Ÿ™‚ Non creative peeps would probably believe you are bonkers LOL but i see what you see it its going too look stunning
    Come on over to my blog and join in on my comp i got going ๐Ÿ™‚ see ya
    Bridge

  5. youngwifey permalink
    April 11, 2010 10:38 pm

    Your birdhouses look great. My parents always had a hotel for birds, 12 openings, rows with 4 holes each.

Leave a Reply

