Skip to content

My first Monarch Butterfly!

May 17, 2010

I was so very excited yesterday when I discovered a Monarch butterfly had flown over the fence and found the bush that I planted especially for these beautiful butterflies.

I couldn’t believe it flew straight to the plant and started laying eggs!


Thanks to Mark and Sue for the butterfly attracting plant 😀 😀 I’m so very happy 🙂
Here’s pretty much the final product of the woodshed 🙂 Just need to trim the galvanised roof and its all finished 🙂 What an awesome job

I decided I also wanted to make a little table to go next to the patio swing, under the tree, so when I’m sitting outside admiring my garden I’ll have somewhere to put my cup of coffee and mag 😆 So I got an off cut of wood and cut out this groovy shape with the jigsaw and then I thought some holes would look pretty cool in there too…

I cut the first three holes just fine, when I started the 4th hole the saw grabbed and ripped the drill out of my hand throwing about 5 foot across the patio! Ouch. I tried again and it happened again and the third time it happened I thought I had broken my wrist. Geez it hurt 😦 I’ve sprained my ring finger and my wrist is sore but all the bones are still together. When I got home from work tonight I gave my table a quick coat of satin varnish and it brought the woodgrain out very nicely 🙂

In other family news – Talissa and Conner have been off school. Conner had an episode of vomiting then just suffered a runny nose and a cough, while Talissa started vomiting Thursday night, all day Friday, all week-end and today 😦 The poor chook has been living on sips of water and dry biscuits. The doctor suggested chocolate milk (which I thought would have been a very big NO, NO!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2010 2:30 pm

    hi tammy i love the butterfly plant can you tell me what the plant is called and where i can get it i do have a buddleia which is in bud (just for butterflies) this is the first time it has flowered thanks carol

  2. Michelle permalink
    May 18, 2010 2:05 pm

    Hey Tam your garden is looking fantastic. I bet you can’t wait to sit back and enjoy all your hard work.

Leave a Reply

