Skip to content

The finished horse

June 14, 2010

…well everything except his ears! πŸ˜†

My neighbour, Jean, also gave me some leather conditioner which I used to polish up the saddle. So the holes were cut in the 44 gallon drum using the jigsaw and a metal blade…

I also drilled holes through the front and back to attach the leg stabilizers…then I had to crawl inside the drum to do up the nuts (because I hadn’t cut the outside holes yet) and it would have been a funny sight from the outside with my arse sticking out πŸ˜† swearing and cursing because it was getting dark and I couldn’t see properly πŸ˜€

I then put the neck of the horse through the front hole and decided I didn’t like the angle of his head – he was looking at the sky! So I undid all those screws, cut the angle again on the neck and re-attached the head (which I accidentally put a dent in the bucket – oh well gives him character :lol:) dug a dirty great big hole , put the post through and cemented it in. He is still looking up slightly but that head is NOT coming off again! Now his head and neck ain’t gonna go anywhere now!! I think the kids could hand upside-down from his head and it wouldn’t move πŸ˜†
Oh and Mardi if you’re reading this? I could ride him over to your home for a cuppa but it might take me a while to get there O_o

My next job was to get the cover done over the sandpit. On Friday I picked up half a tonne of kindy sand ($18.00!!) which sounds like a fabulous price until you have to shovel it all into a wheelbarrow and take it from the front of the house to the back. By the time I’d finished it felt like my knuckles where dragging on the ground…those barrow loads got real heavy πŸ˜†

It’s quite deep too and full to the very brim with sand…perhaps a foot and a half deep? I bought some grommits from Bunnings for a couple of dollars and these stretchy trailer loop thingies. I put the grommits around the shade cloth, then hammered in some of those ‘U’ shaped nails and voila! a cover for the sandpit. I also attached a length of timber across the back to hold it nice and square. And as you can see the grass is also starting to grow in the picnic area…except I went to give it a long mow (eg: I had the lawn mower at the highest level) and when I started to mow it dropped down to the lowest setting so now I have a small crop circle in my grass πŸ˜†

Today I started on the large garden bed and have started to make a bench seat. This is looking straight at the horse and cubby and will be surrounded by large plants. So it will be another little hidey hole πŸ™‚ Some of you will also be pleased that I dug up my Oleander bush (will plant it out the front) and have put in a tree…buggar I’ve forgotten the name but its one that turns orange and yellow in Autumn and all the leaves fall off. I’ll have to remember to write down the name for my next blog post πŸ˜‰

While I’ve been busy doing this Talissa sat sown today and finished sewing her teddy bear that she started months ago while doing Girl Guides. She had previously stitch it all together with blanket stitch and last night we stuffed it ready for some fun stitching and button eyes…here she is this morning sewing the nose and mouth…

here’s my proud and clever girl after she finished the mouth πŸ™‚

and the finished product (unless she wants to do some more of course)

she did nearly all the sewing herself – I just started each colour and finished off each colour for her. I’m SO proud of her effort! She kept going until it was finished and considering this is her first sewing project her lines are all quite straight! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ *insert proud mummy smile here* πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

One more photo for today – this is Conner in his new jacket πŸ™‚ Its the Zippleback from the movie ‘How to train your dragon’ It’s so cute as it has the eyes and frilly dragon bits on the hood πŸ˜€Β 
He wears the hood up all day and looks just TOO cute πŸ™‚

Well tomorrow is a work day so not too much will be happening. I hope you all had a great long week-end πŸ˜‰

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

