Skip to content

Kicking the habit

September 25, 2010

Yes I have decided that my cigarette addiction needs to be butted out for good! There are many reasons for quitting – my health is at the top of the list – I’ve been smoking for around 28 years now and I often think what would happen to the kids if I ended up with throat cancer or lung cancer. I don’t want my kids to have to watch me die a horrible death! So I went to the doctor and I have started on Champix…I’m on day three and I’m thinking positive ๐Ÿ™‚

Has anyone got any positive stories to tell about Champix? I’d like to hear them ๐Ÿ™‚

I took Talissa and Conner to the park to fly their kites they got in their showbags. I have always loved the Royal Show even though I cringe every year when September comes around. I’m sure I’m not the only parent that would love to hide their credit cards this time of the year!

This is Conner on the park swing and he has his ‘special’ rock egg that he got from the show ๐Ÿ™‚

I finally got my creek/pond liner down…then it absolutely poured with rain the next day and flooded the whole back yard! I didn’t really need the pond in after that deludge as the whole backyard was a river!!

After the flood subsided I got back out into the yard and ran power to the woodshed. I was very proud of myself for getting this done. Dwayne helped me take off some of the roof tiles as I wasn’t very confident up on the ladder. We both got some nasty scrapes on our hand but between us we did a great job!

then I started on my little bridge over the creek ๐Ÿ™‚

Talissa and Conner love the roped handled bridge and I had fun drilling those BIG holes and adding the large bolts ๐Ÿ™‚
Even Dwayne likes to swing on the bridge – a hand on each of the end posts and swinging their legs back and forth. I’ve since added the second rope. Then last week end the kids and I went taddie hunting at the local park ๐Ÿ™‚
We caught 14 tadpoles for the pond!!

the kids had a ball playing in the park creek in their rubber boots ๐Ÿ™‚ splashing around and getting stuck in the mud LOL!! It was great fun ๐Ÿ™‚ So we should have some froggies soon. It will be wonderful to listen to them in the evenings ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve been trying to get out in the garden as much as possible. Since spring has hit its been wonderful. You smell the change in the air. The deciduous trees are budding and the flowers are blooming. I LOVE SPRING! I have been planting lots of seeds. The list is getting longer every week ๐Ÿ™‚ Sunflowers, Gypsophila (pink and white) Ecinachia, poached egg plant and I have some Silver beet seeds to plant tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

Limnanthes, aka the poached egg plant, is a magnet for bees and other pollinators. Photograph: David Jackson/Alamy

FINALLY “this” is going tomorrow morning…yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!! WOOHOO!!!!

This has been a mode of contention for me – for years!! I HATE looking at this in my yard. It’s disgusting, dangerous and ugly. Talissa has had this to look at for as long as she can remember…

don’t you think it looks ugly? How can this be nice for a child to look at day after day?ย  Soon I can do the garden outside of Talissa’s window and give her something green and pretty to look at ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve often pondered lately why is it people will do something for someone they “hate” but not for someone they love?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    September 28, 2010 10:42 pm

    Hi Tam,
    bet you are happy to have that out of the way. dont worry talissa will be ok, Hannah had jasons statesman out the front of her wiondow for longer. Garden is looking lovely !
    B

Leave a Reply

